at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
UHCSEAS on Facebook UHCSEAS on Twitter UHCSEAS on LinkedIn UHCSEAS on Vimeo UHCSEAS on Instagram
The Center for Southeast Asian Studies > Southeast Asia Resource Specialists

Southeast Asia Resource Specialists

The Center for Southeast Asian Studies has access to the largest concentration of Southeast Asia specialists available in the United States, drawing upon the expertise of over fifty professors and resources specialists at the University of Hawaiʻi and in the local community.

Students and scholars interested in Southeast Asia can draw upon professors and experts in the field from over twenty-five programs, including  American StudiesAnthropologyAsian Studies, ArtBotanyBusinessEcological AnthropologyEconomicsEnvironmental StudiesEthnomusicology, Film, GeographyHistoryInternational StudiesLawLibrary ScienceLinguisticsMusicPolitical SciencePublic AdministrationSociologySoutheast Asian Languages and Literatures (Tagalog, Ilokano, IndonesianKhmerThai and Vietnamese (with Arabic also available)), Textiles and ClothingTheatre and DanceUrban and Regional Planning and Women’s Studies.


Brunei

top

Cambodia

Kennon Breazeale, Ph.D. | Projects Coordinator, East-West Center
History of Tai-speaking areas (Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Yunnan)
breazeak@eastwestcenter.org | website

Sothy Eng, Ph.D. |  Department of Family and Consumer Science
Cambodian education including access and equity, program development and evaluation, child and adolescent learning and development, family and community development
sothy@hawaii.edu | website

Jefferson Fox, Ph.D. | Senior Research Fellow, East-West Center
Land cover, forest resource management, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia
FoxJ@EastWestCenter.org | website

Paul Lavy, Ph.D. | Department of  Art & Art History
Southeast Asian art, Hindu-Buddhist traditions of the Mekong Delta & Preangkorian civ
paul.lavy@hawaii.edu | website | Faculty Spotlight

Jonathan Padwe, Ph.D. | Department of Anthropology
Southeast Asian anthropology, agrarian transition in Southeast Asia
padwe@hawaii.edu | website | War & Recovery in Northeast Cambodia

Chhany Sak-Humphry, Ph.D.| Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Khmer (Cambodian) language, linguistics, language and technology
sak@hawaii.edu | website

Miriam Stark, Ph.D.| Department of Anthropology
Southeast Asian archaeology, Lower Mekong Archaeological Project, Greater Angkor Project
miriams@hawaii.edu | website | Faculty Spotlight | PublicationsThe Age of Angkor: From the Inside Outward | Training Cambodian Archaeologists | Day of Archaeology | Imagining Angkor: Politics, Myths and Archaeology | Premodern Khmers and their Mekong

top

Indonesia

Barbara Watson Andaya, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
History of Southeast Asia, women in the Malay world, Asian studies
bandaya@hawaii.edu | website

Leonard Andaya, Ph.D. | Department of History
History of Southeast Asia, Malay world
andaya@hawaii.edu | website

Nezia Azmi | International & Special Programs Coordinator, College of Education
Performing arts, Indonesia, Malaysia
azti@hawaii.edu | website

Nicholas Barker, Ph.D. | Senior Leadership Education Specialist, East-West Center
Leadership Education, religiosity in Southeast Asia
BarkerN@EastWestCenter.org | website

Nancy Cooper, Ph.D. | Department of Anthropology (Ret/Active Teaching)
Cultural anthropology, Java
ncooper@hawaii.edu | website

Kimberly Carlson, Ph.D. | Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management
Land use and land cover change, remote sensing, tropical agricultural commodities, human-environment interactions, Indonesia
kimberly.carlson@hawaii.edu| website | website

Ashok Das, Ph.D. | Department of Urban & Regional Planning
Urban planning and poverty issues in Indonesia and Southeast Asia
ashokdas@hawaii.edu | website

Patricia (Pattie) Dunn | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Pan-Southeast Asia, Indonesia, gamelan, educational advising
pdunn@hawaii.edu | website

Jerome Feldman, Ph.D. | Hawaiʻi Pacific University
Tribal arts of Southeast Asia
jfeldman@hpu.edu | website

Jefferson Fox, Ph.D. | Senior Research Fellow, East-West Center
Land cover, forest resource management, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia
FoxJ@EastWestCenter.org | website

Carl Hefner, Ph.D. | University of Hawaiʻi – Kapiʻolani Community College
Anthropology, Indonesia, Asian studies, film studies
hefner@hawaii.edu | website

Aya Hirata-Kimura, Ph.D. | Department of Women’s Studies
Sociology, food and environmental issues, Indonesia, women’s studies
aya.hirata.kimura@hawaii.edu | website

Lisa Kelley, Ph.D. | Department of Geography
Remote sensing, political ecology, Indonesia and Southeast Asia
lckelley@hawaii.edu | website

Ehito Kimura, Ph.D. | Department of Political Science
Southeast Asian politics
ehito@hawaii.edu | website

Uli Kozok, Ph.D. | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Indonesian language, paleography of island Southeast Asia
kozok@hawaii.edu | website

John Lynham, Ph.D. | Department of Economics
Environmental/resource economics, marine ecology and behavioral economics
lynham@hawaii.edu | website

Bradley McDonnell, Ph.D. | Department of Linguistics
Language Documentation, Syntax, Phonology, Sumatra
mcdonn@hawaii.edu | website

Byron Moon, Ph.D. | Department of Music
Javanese gamelan
bmoon@hawaii.edu | website

Rohayati Paseng | Hamilton Library, Southeast Asia Collection
Southeast Asia library resources, Southeast Asian film, translation/film subtitling
rohayati@hawaii.edu | website

Kirstin Pauka, Ph.D. | Department of Theatre & Dance
Southeast Asian dance /drama, Randai (West Sumatra), Balinese Theatre & Dance
pauka@hawaii.edu | website | Dance in Randai | Music in Randai

Paul Rausch | Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Southeast Asian film, film subtitling, textiles/clothing/body modification
rausch@hawaii.edu | website

Annie Reynolds, Ph.D. | Arts Program Assistant, East-West Center
Southeast Asian theater & performance, Indonesia
reynolda@eastwestcenter.org

L. Ayu Saraswati, Ph.D. | Associate Professor, Department of Women’s Studies, feminist media, transnational & postcolonial feminism, women’s body image and beauty culture
luhp@hawaii.edu | website

R. Anderson “Andy” Sutton, Ph.D.| Dean SPAS, Vice Chancellor International Exchange, Ethnomusicology, Javanese performance ensemble, K-Pop
rasutton@hawaii.edu | website

I Made Widana | Artist-in-Residence, Asian Theatre, Department of Theatre & Dance
Balinese music and dance instructor
widana@hawaii.edu 

Adjunct

Lisa X. Gollin, Ph.D. | Cultural Surveys Hawaiʻi
Medical anthropology, ethnobotany and ethnobiology, Indonesia
lxgollin@hawaii.edu

top

Laos

Kennon Breazeale, Ph.D. | Projects Coordinator, East-West Center
History of Tai-speaking areas (Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Yunnan)
breazeak@eastwestcenter.org | website

top

Malaysia

Barbara Watson Andaya, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
History of Southeast Asia, women in the Malay world, Asian studies
bandaya@hawaii.edu | website

Leonard Andaya, Ph.D. | Department of History
History of Southeast Asia, Malay world
andaya@hawaii.edu | website

Nezia Azmi | International & Special Programs Coordinator, College of Education
Performing arts
azti@hawaii.edu | website

Chet-Yeng Loong, Ph.D. | Department of Music
Music education
chetyeng@hawaii.edu | website

top

Myanmar

Michael Aung-Thwin, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Classical Southeast Asia
aungthwi@hawaii.edu | website

Kennon Breazeale, Ph.D. | Projects Coordinator, East-West Center
History of Tai-speaking areas (Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, Yunnan)
breazeak@eastwestcenter.org | website

top

Philippines

Patricio “Jojo” Abinales, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Muslim Philippines/Mindanao, middle class-elite violence, food
abinales@hawaii.edu | website

Aurelio Agcaoili, Ph.D. | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Ilocano language and literature
aurelioa@hawaii.edu | website

Pia C. Arboleda, D.A. | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog, Philippine literature, film translation/subtitling
pca62@hawaii.edu | website

Nicholas Barker, Ph.D. | Senior Leadership Education Specialist, East-West Center
Leadership education, religiosity in Southeast Asia
BarkerN@EastWestCenter.org | website

Catherine Chan-Halbrendt, Ph.D. | Dept. of Natural Resources & Environmental Management
Agricultural marketing, agri-entrepreneurship in Mindanao
chanhalb@hawaii.edu | website

Elena Clariza  | Hamilton Library, Philippine Collection
Library resources, educational resources development
mclariza@hawaii.edu | website

Dean Domingo  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Ilocano, Philippine literature
deand@hawaii.edu | website

Imelda Gasmen  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog, Philippine literature
igasmen@hawaii.edu | website

Patricia Halagao, Ph.D. | College of Education
Curriculum studies, multicultural education
phalagao@hawaii.edu | website

Vina Lanzona, Ph.D.  | School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Department of History
Southeast Asian history, gender and revolution
vlanzona@hawaii.edu | website

Frederico V. Magdalena, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Muslim Mindanao
fm@hawaii.edu | website

Clemen Montero | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Tagalog/Ilocano language, educational program development
montero@hawaii.edu | website

Nadezna Ortega, JD | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Ilocano language, Philippine literature
nadezna@hawaii.edu | website

Leticia C. Pagkalinawan, Ph.D. | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog language, Philippine literature
leticiap@hawaii.edu | website

Jayson Parba, Ph.D. | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog language, Philippine literature, Social justice in education
jaysonpa@hawaii.edu | website

Miriam Stark, Ph.D.| Department of Anthropology
Southeast Asian archaeology, ethnoarchaeology  in Kalinga Province (northern Luzon)
miriams@hawaii.edu | website | Faculty Spotlight | Publications

Ricardo D. Trimillos, Ph.D.  | School of Pacific and Asian Studies (Ret/Active Teaching)
Ethnomusicology, Asian studies, Muslim Philippines
rtrimil@hawaii.edu | website

top

Singapore

Barbara Watson Andaya, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
History of Southeast Asia, women in the Malay world, Asian studies
bandaya@hawaii.edu | website

top

Thailand

Benjamin Fairfield, Ph.D. | Affiliate Faculty CSEAS & Department of Music
SEA Ethnomusicology, Thai music
bsf@hawaii.edu| website

Yuphaphann Hoonchamlong, Ph.D. (Ms) | Dept. of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Thai language
yuphapha@hawaii.edu | website

Lisa Kelley, Ph.D. | Department of Geography
Remote sensing, political ecology, Thailand and Southeast Asia
lckelley@hawaii.edu | website

Mary Mostafanezhad, Ph.D. | Department of Geography
Thailand; Tourism; Agro-food initiatives; International development and humanitarianism; and Transboundary environmental governance
mostafan@hawaii.edu website

Kennon Breazeale, Ph.D. | Projects Coordinator, East-West Center
History of Tai-speaking areas (Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Yunnan)
breazeak@eastwestcenter.org | website

William Chapman, Ph.D. | Department of American Studies (Historic Preservation)
Southeast Asian architecture/archaeology/preservation
wchapman@hawaii.edu | website

Hayden Shelby, Ph.D. | Department of Urban and Regional Planning
Land, housing, and environmental justice
hshelby@hawaii.edu | website

Brian Szuster, Ph.D. | Department of Geography
Geography of Southeast Asia, coastal/marine environments in Southeast Asia
szuster@hawaii.edu | website

top

Timor-Leste

J.B. Friday, Ph.D. | Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management
Tropical forestry, Timor-Leste agroforestry project
jbfriday@hawaii.edu | website

top

Viet Nam

Tung X. Bui, Ph.D. | Shidler College of Business, Information Technology Management
Computer-supported group decision and negotiation, management, UHM/Shidler Vietnam MBA program
tung.bui@hawaii.edu | website

Jefferson Fox, Ph.D. | Senior Research Fellow, East-West Center
Land cover, forest resource management, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia
FoxJ@EastWestCenter.org | website

top

ASEAN – Pan-Southeast Asia

Robert Blust, Ph.D. | Department of Linguistics
Austronesian linguistics
blust@hawaii.edu | website

John Butler, Ph.D. | Shidler College of Business, Management and Industrial Relations
Entrepreneurship, Southeast Asia
jebutler@hawaii.edu | website

Eric Chang | Arts Coordinator, East-West Center
Performing and visual Arts, Southeast Asia (and Pacific and East Asia)
ChangE@EastWestCenter.org | website

Ashok Das, Ph.D. | Department of Urban & Regional Planning
Urban planning and poverty issues Southeast Asia
ashokdas@hawaii.edu | website

Patricia (Pattie) Dunn | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Pan-Southeast Asia, Indonesia, gamelan, educational advising
pdunn@hawaii.edu | website

Patricia Halagao, Ph.D. | College of Education
Curriculum studies, multicultural education
phalagao@hawaii.edu | website

Ken Hon, Ph.D. | University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Geology, volcanology
kenhon@hawaii.edu | website

John Lynham, Ph.D.| Economics
Environmental and resource economics, ocean policy, Southeast Asia
lynham@hawaii.edu | website

Joseph L. Overton, Ph.D. | University of Hawaiʻi – Kapiʻolani Community College
Asian Studies program development, Fulbright Group Projects, Freeman Foundation
overton@hawaii.edu | website

Rohayati Paseng | Hamilton Library, Southeast Asia Collection
Southeast Asia library resources, Indonesia, Southeast Asian film, translation/film subtitling
rohayati@hawaii.edu | website

Paul Rausch | Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Southeast Asian film, film subtitling, textiles/clothing/body modification
rausch@hawaii.edu | website

Michael Schuster, Ph.D. | Curator, East-West Center Gallery
Art and theater of Southeast Asia
SchusteM@EastWestCenter.org | website

Lyndon Wester, Ph.D. | Department of Geography
Geography of Southeast Asia, Conservation of endangered species and habitat restoration
wester@hawaii.edu | website

top