at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
UHCSEAS on Facebook UHCSEAS on Twitter UHCSEAS on LinkedIn UHCSEAS on Vimeo UHCSEAS on Instagram UHCSEAS on Youtube

PEMSEA Panel 3: PSU Research Highlights: Bicol Communities and Ecologies

Panel 3: PSU Research Highlights: Bicol Communities and Ecologies

Date & Time: August 16, 5pm HST / 8pm PST / August 17, 11am Philippines Time

Register here.

Abstract:

The diverse ecologies of the Partido district make it an excellent case study to highlight the links between biodiversity and landscape knowledge. This panel will discuss ongoing Partido State University research projects that have the potential to bridge environmental and local knowledge systems. Panelist will provide descriptions of the diverse ecologies of the Partido District, highlighting the need for an integrative and multidisciplinary approach in understanding human-environment relationships. The panel also discusses what is known about Isarog’s biodiversity index, develop research strategies, and apply the strategies in the field.

Panelists:

Ricky Laureta, PSU

Maria Christina Gumba, PSU

Marjorie Atole, PSU

Moderator: Da-wei Kuan, National Chengchi University, Taiwan

This webinar is part of the PEMSEA webinar series, Historicizing Disaster Risk Management: The Ecology of Mt. Isarog and its Environs. More info here

Co-sponsors: UCLA Center for Southeast Asian Studies; UCLA Cotsen Institute of Archaeology; UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies; UCLA Department of Anthropology; Center for Taiwan-Philippines Indigenous Knowledge, Local Knowledge, and Sustainable Studies (CTPILS), National Chengchi University, Taiwan

  • 00

    days

  • 00

    hours

  • 00

    minutes

  • 00

    seconds

Date

Aug 16 2021

Time

Times stated in HST.
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Category

Leave a Reply