at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
UHCSEAS on Facebook UHCSEAS on Twitter UHCSEAS on Instagram UHCSEAS on Youtube
Center for Southeast Asian Studies > Students > Scholarships > Embree Scholarship and Moscotti Fellowship

Embree Scholarship and Moscotti Fellowship

The John Fee Embree Endowed Scholarship

Application Period Closed

Application period open: N/A

Deadline: N/A | Apply on STAR | Average Award: Varies

John Fee Embree
John Fee Embree

The John Fee Embree Endowed Scholarship was established to honor the late Asia scholar, Professor John Fee Embree. Dr. Embree served as Professor of Anthropology at the University of Hawai’i in 1937–41 and during World War II in 1943–45. He was also Associate Professor of Anthropology and head of the Japanese area studies of the Civil Affairs Training School for the Far East which the War Department set up at the University of Chicago for the training of military government officers for Japan and the Occupied Areas. He was Associate Professor of Sociology and Research Associate of Anthropology at Yale from 1948 to 1950 and, later in the year, was appointed the University’s Director of Southeast Asia Studies.

The scholarship is earmarked to assist graduate students in anthropology or sociology (or other disciplines in the absence of anthropology or sociology applicants) who are concentrating their academic work on Southeast Asia related studies at UHM. Non-US citizens are eligible to apply.

NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, awards for travel will not be made until further notice. Applications may still be submitted, and awards will be made on the basis of academic excellence, SEA language competency, and strength of commitment to the study of Southeast Asia.

Past Awardees

Please email us at if there are any corrections that need to be made.

  • 2021: Ci Yan Sara Loh (PhD, Anthropology)
  • 2019: Ben Moseley (PhD, History)
  • 2017: Annie Reynolds (PhD, Theatre & Dance)
  • 2015: Piphal Heng (PhD, Anthropology)
  • 2013: Asami Nago (PhD, Anthropology)
  • 2011: Kelli Swazey (PhD, Anthropology)

The Albert D. Moscotti Fellowship for Graduate Studies of Southeast Asia

Application Period Open: Now until March 15, 2024!

Application period open: Now

Deadline: Friday, March 15, 2024, 11:59pm | Average Award: Varies

This endowment was established by Albert D. Moscotti in honor of his parents, Anthony and Amy Moscotti.

This fellowship is to assist full-time, classified graduate students in a degree program at UHM in any department or program in the arts, humanities or social sciences whose area of focus is Southeast Asia. Non-US citizens are eligible to apply.

This fellowship may be used for any of the following purposes:

  • to attend a professional meeting at which the graduate student will present a scholarly paper or participate in the meeting as a discussant of a scholarly paper;
  • to provide travel expenses for Southeast Asia graduate students so that they can conduct research which will contribute to the preparation of a scholarly paper by the student or other appropriate research purposes.

Application for Grant

  1. Narrative Essay: write a brief description of your academic
    goals and the relevance of the conference or field research to
    reaching your academic goals in the context of Southeast
    Asian Studies. (1000 characters).
  2. Budget: provide a budget for your proposal with these details:
    – Dates of Travel:
    – Location of Conference or Field Research:
    – Airline and Estimated Airfare:
    – Cost of Accommodations:
    – Cost of Meals & Incidentals:
    – Cost of Ground Transportation:
    – Conference Registration Fee:
  3. Documentation: Please include
    – invitation letter to participate in the conference or departmental approval to conduct field research
    – an airline itinerary with price quote
  4. Recommendation: Please provide the name and email of your academic program advisor or a faculty member familiar with your academic research.

  • Deadline
    Please email the application to Teri Skillman (
    by 11:59 pm on Friday, March 15, 2024

Past Awardees

Please email us at if there are any corrections that need to be made.

  • 2022:
    • Ci Yan Sara Loh (PhD, Anthropology)
    • Saveun Nhim (PhD, Political Science)
  • 2021: Tricia Khun (MPH, Public Health)
  • 2020: Not Awarded (COVID-19)
  • 2019: Phianphachong Intarat (PhD, Anthropology)
  • 2018: Ben Moseley (PhD, History)
  • 2017: Soksamphoas Im (PhD, Political Science)
  • 2016: Annie Reynolds (PhD, Theatre & Dance)
  • 2015: Tani Sebro (PhD, Political Science)
  • 2014: Aaron Rom Moralina (PhD, History)
  • 2013
    • Jessica Austin (MA, Asian Studies)
    • Benjamin Fairfield (PhD, Ethnomusicology)
    • Keith Bettinger (PhD, Geography)
  • 2012: Nor Ismah (MA, Asian Studies)
  • 2011: Keng Kim-Yung (PhD, Sociology)
  • 2010:
    • Piphal Heng (PhD, Anthropology)
    • Cheryl Narumi Naruse (PhD, English)
    • Jasmin Yep (MFA, Theatre & Dance)
  • 2009:
    • Mohamed Effendy bin Abdul Hamid (PhD, History)
    • Shawn Fehrenbach (MA, Anthropology)
    • Rachel Hoerman (PhD, Anthropology)
  • 2008: Bryce Beemer (PhD, History)
  • 2007: Lance Nolde (MA, History)