at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
UHCSEAS on Facebook UHCSEAS on Twitter UHCSEAS on Instagram UHCSEAS on Youtube
Center for Southeast Asian Studies > SEA ʻOhana

SEA ʻOhana

CAMBODIA
Jefferson Fox, Ph.D. | Senior Research Fellow, East-West Center
Land cover, forest resource management, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia
FoxJ@EastWestCenter.org | website

Piphal Heng, Ph.D. | Department of Anthropology, (TBA)
Political economy, religious-ideological changes, state formation in early modern Southeast Asia
piphal@hawaii.edu | website | spotlight

Courtney Work, Ph.D.| Affiliate Faculty | Assistant Professor, Department of Ethnology, National Chengchi University (Taiwan)
Cambodia, Land, Spirit, Religion, Climate Change
cwork@nccu.edu.tw | website

Ming-Li Yong, Ph.D. | Fellow, East-West Center
Transboundary water governance, development, livelihoods, public participation in the Mekong River Basin
yongm@eastwestcenter.org | website | spotlight

INDONESIA
Jerome Feldman, Ph.D. | Hawaiʻi Pacific University
Tribal arts of Southeast Asia
jfeldman@hpu.edu | website

Jefferson Fox, Ph.D. | Senior Research Fellow, East-West Center
Land cover, forest resource management, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia
FoxJ@EastWestCenter.org | website

Annie Reynolds, Ph.D. | Curator EWC Gallery, East-West Center
Southeast Asian theater & performance, Indonesia
reynolda@eastwestcenter.org

R. Anderson “Andy” Sutton, Ph.D.| Professor, Ethnomusicology, Javanese performance ensemble, K-Pop
rasutton@hawaii.edu | website

LAOS
Ming-Li Yong, Ph.D. | Fellow, East-West Center
Transboundary water governance, development, livelihoods, public participation in the Mekong River Basin
yongm@eastwestcenter.org | website | spotlight

MALAYSIA

MYANMAR
Kevin Woods, Ph.D. | Adjunct Senior Fellow, Research Program, East-West Center
Politics of land use change, resource extraction, and environmental conservation; resources and armed conflict dynamics; environmental peace building; Chinese investment in Southeast Asia; mainland Southeast Asia, with focus on Burma/Myanmar
WoodsK@EastWestCenter.org | website

PHILIPPINES
Catherine Chan-Halbrendt, Ph.D. | Dept. of Natural Resources & Environmental Management
Agricultural economics, agri-entrepreneurship in Mindanao
chanhalb@hawaii.edu | website

SINGAPORE

THAILAND
Benjamin Fairfield, Ph.D. | Affiliate Faculty CSEAS & Department of Music, East-West Center Registrar, SEA Ethnomusicology, Thai music
bsf@hawaii.eduwebsite

Phanwin Yokying, Ph.D | Fellow, East-West Center
Development, labor, and agricultural economics (e.g. migration, gender, time use, child labor, informal employment)
YokyingP@EastWestCenter.org | website

TiMOR-LESTE

VIET NAM
Margaret Bodemer, Ph.D. | Affiliate Faculty, Department of Anthropology | Cal Poly
Culture, history and identity in Southeast Asia
mbodemer@calpoly.edu website

Jefferson Fox, Ph.D. | Senior Research Fellow, East-West Center
Land cover, forest resource management, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia
FoxJ@EastWestCenter.org | website

Ming-Li Yong, Ph.D. | Fellow, East-West Center
Transboundary water governance, development, livelihoods, public participation in the Mekong River Basin
yongm@eastwestcenter.org | website | spotlight

Adjunct Faculty
Lisa X. Gollin, Ph.D. | Cultural Surveys Hawaiʻi
Medical anthropology, ethnobotany and ethnobiology, Indonesia
lxgollin@hawaii.edu

ASEAN PAN-PACIFIC
Eric Chang | Arts Coordinator, East-West Center
Performing and visual Arts, Southeast Asia (and Pacific and East Asia)
ChangE@EastWestCenter.org | website

Mary Hattori, Ph.D. | Interim Director, Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center
Educational technology, culturally responsive and culturally sustaining education, leadership development, arts education, multilingualism, indigenous research methodologies
HattoriM@EastWestCenter.org | website

Ken Hon, Ph.D. | University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Geology, volcanology
kenhon@hawaii.edu | website

Joseph L. Overton, Ph.D. | University of Hawaiʻi – Kapiʻolani Community College
Asian Studies program development, Fulbright Group Projects, Freeman Foundation
overton@hawaii.edu | website

Ming-Li Yong, Ph.D. | Fellow, East-West Center
Transboundary water governance, development, livelihoods, public participation in the Mekong River Basin
yongm@eastwestcenter.org | website | spotlight