Philippines Specialists

Philippines imageTaal Lake and Volcano, Batangas, Philippines

Patricio “Jojo” Abinales, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Muslim Philippines/Mindanao, middle class-elite violence, food
abinales@hawaii.edu | website

Aurelio Agcaoili, Ph.D. | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Ilocano language and literature
aurelioa@hawaii.edu | website

Belinda A. Aquino, Ph.D. | School of Pacific and Asian Studies (Ret.)
Political Science, Asian studies
lyndy@hawaii.edu | website

Pia C. Arboleda, D.A.  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog, Philippine literature, film translation/subtitling
pca62@hawaii.edu | website

Nicholas Barker, Ph.D.  | Senior Leadership Education Specialist, East-West Center
Leadership education, religiosity in Southeast Asia
BarkerN@EastWestCenter.org | website

Catherine Chan-Halbrendt, Ph.D. | Dept. of Natural Resources & Environmental Management
Agricultural marketing, agri-entrepreneurship in Mindanao
chanhalb@hawaii.edu | website

Ma. Elena B. Clariza  | Hamilton Library, Philippines Collection
Library resources, educational resources development
mclariza@hawaii.edu | website

Imelda Gasmen  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog, Philippine literature
igasmen@hawaii.edu | website

Patricia Halagao, Ph.D. | College of Education
Curriculum studies, multicultural education
phalagao@hawaii.edu | website

Ben Kerkvliet, Ph.D.  | CSEAS Affiliate (Ret.)
Southeast Asian history
ben.kerkvliet@anu.edu.au

Vina Lanzona, Ph.D.  | School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Department of History
Southeast Asian history, gender and revolution
vlanzona@hawaii.edu | website

Ruth Mabanglo, Ph.D.  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog language, Philippine literature
mabanglo@hawaii.edu | website

Frederico V. Magdalena, Ph.D.  | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Muslim Mindanao
fm@hawaii.edu | website

Clemen Montero (Ms)  | School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Tagalog/Ilocano language, educational program development
montero@hawaii.edu | website

Leticia C. Pagkalinawan, Ph.D.  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Tagalog language, Philippine literature
leticiap@hawaii.edu | website

Lilia Quindoza Santiago, Ph.D.  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Ilokano language, Philippine literature
lilias@hawaii.edu | website

Julius Soria  | Department of Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures
Ilokano language
soria@hawaii.edu | website

Miriam Stark, Ph.D.| Department of Anthropology
Southeast Asian archaeology, ethnoarchaeology  in Kalinga Province (northern Luzon)
miriams@hawaii.edu | website

Ricardo D. Trimillos, Ph.D.  | School of Pacific and Asian Studies (Ret.)
Ethnomusicology, Asian studies, Muslim Philippines
rtrimil@hawaii.edu | website

Peter Xenos, Ph.D.  | CSEAS Affiliate (Ret.)
Sociology, social systems and youth, demography
xenosp@hawaii.edu

Regional Specialists by Country:

bruneiflag-small

Brunei

cambodiaflag-small

Cambodia

Indonesiaflag-small

Indonesia

laosflag-small

Laos

malaysiaflag-small

Malaysia

myanmarflag-small

Myanmar

philippinesflag-small

Philippines

singaporeflag-small

Singapore

thailandflag-small

Thailand

timorlesteflag-small

Timor- Leste

vietnamflag-small

Viet Nam

aseanflag-small

ASEAN